The MGM had opened its doors to the public in 1912. On display were specimens collected by mining engineers and the TU Delft’s staff and students since the 1840’s. The collection continued to grow until a few years ago when, due to financial and space restraints, the Museum had to be closed to the public. In 2013 the TU Delft was faced with the complete dismantling of the collection and the irreversible closure of the Museum. Then the Alumni came into play. Their reaction was to initiate the ‘Brightstone Project’ – an all-out campaign to find external sponsors to save at least part of the collection for the University and the public.
In 2014, Dietsmann stepped in as the MGM’s ‘legacy sponsor’ with a pledge of sponsorship for the next 10 years. On 4 April 2014 Dietsmann’s President & CEO, Mr. Peter Kütemann, ceremonially handed-over of a check for 1 million Euro – the total amount of sponsorship money collected by four main sponsors for the re-opening of the MGM – to the MGM Foundation’s Chairman, Mr. Duco Drenth.
Dietsmann’s pledge of sponsorship for the next 10 years has enabled the core of the collection, including 25 antique, handcrafted, showcases and mineral displays, to be relocated to the second floor of the TU Delft’s Science Centre at Mijnbouwstraat 120, in the city of Delft. The central area, where over 4,000 different, special and highly valuable specimens will be displayed, will be named the “Dietsmann Hall”. The “new” Mineralogical and Geological Museum (MGM) officially opened on 28 April 2015. The invited guests include the Major of Delft and the President of the University.
Further details can be found on sciencecentre.tudelft.nl